Advisory Committee on Structural Safety of VA Facilities November 1, 2021

Background:

In accordance with Public Law 93-82, the Secretary established this Committee in 1972 to advise him on matters of structural safety in the construction and remodeling of VA facilities and to recommend standards for use in the VA in the construction and renovation as prescribed under Section 8105 of Title 38 United States Code. This committee is an integral part of VA policy on structural safety of medical facilities and has helped establish and maintain the leadership of VA in the area of seismic safety and fire protection. The committee's members are appointed by the Secretary and are internationally recognized experts in their professional specialties.

Current Membership:

- 1. Ms. Allison C. Ellis, PE
- 2. Dr. Nathan C. Gould, DSc, PE, SE
- 3. Mr. James R. (Skip) Gregory, NCARB
- 4. Dr. Jerome F. Hajjar, PhD, PE, FASCE, FSEI
- 5. Dr. Gyimah Kasali, GE
- 6. Steven R Winkel, FAIA, PE, CASp

Chair, Fire Safety Engineer Practicing Structural Engineer Vice Chair, Practicing Architect

Research Professor, Structural Engineering Geotechnical Engineer Practicing Architect

Functions:

The Committee provides advice on significant technological advances, national and local building code upgrades, interprets and reviews appropriate federal, state, and local laws, ordinances, building codes, and current research, and recommends changes to VA structural and fire protection design standards.

Frequency of meetings:

Meetings are held at least once a year and are open to the public.

Designated Federal Official (DFO)

Donald L. Myers Facilities Standards Service (003C2B)